Pupils in the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) are aged between 3 – 5 years old.

Within EYFS there are 10 areas of continuous provision and termly topics over a three year period are used to add to each area’s enriching experience. The areas of continuous provision are:

  • 1:1 target teaching area
  • Construction
  • Mark-Making Area
  • Role Play
  • Outdoor Play
  • Water
  • Reading
  • Creative
  • Sand
  • Sensory Area

Pupils are supported to work towards independent use of each of the areas. Beginning at experiential use that develops anticipation, pupils may move onto supported use of the areas and then increasingly independent use.

Within areas, adults provide support where necessary to stimulate the development of free play skills and Personal and Social Development skills (e.g. turn taking). Pupils are encouraged to make choices at each area , starting with simple choices such as picking from a selection of two before moving to an increasing number of choices as concepts develop.

Further details regarding the content and approach are given within the documents on this page.